Monkey Island – Collab

(originally from September 2007)

 

One Day on Monkey Island…

Monkey Island floats in the sea,
with flowers golden and palm trees green.
Sandy beaches surround all sides
where oysters lay abed drowsing in drifting tides
Then one day the peace was shattered
as if someone hit it with a silver platter.
A big fat fish came flopping ashore,
and landed at the feet of our monkey, Theodore.
Theo, he looked and scratched his head,
Then he asked the fish, “You;re sure you’re not dead?”
The fish answered haughtily, her voice tight,
“I wanted to go out on the town for a night.
I wanted to dress up in ribbons and pearls
and taken to the bright dance floor for a whirl.”
With a shrug, the monkey, he agreed
And took her back to his house of seaweed.
There he dressed her in ribbons and swags,
but when he got to the shoes he hit a snag.
“I’m sorry,” he said, his voice a quiver.
“But glass slippers just don’t fit on flippers.”
She flicked him with her flippers in disdain
and flopped over to the window pane.
“I’ll just go back to my home – away from the ground
Where Willy the Octopus taps all around.
He knows how to have a good time!”
And with that she was gone, lost to the brine.
Theo, he shook his fist and growled after the fact,
“hey you damn fish! bring my ribbons back!”

Some lines from – Here Kitty, Glenn, Margie & Annie

For the Segment I call “Random Things from My Hard Drives” I present

pics I took on Labor Day!

swing.jpg

lonely swing

bee.jpg

Bee on the flowers (rubber plant maybe? Not sure)

butterfly6.jpg

Whatever it is, it’s a butterfly magnet

butterfly 7.jpg

see what I mean?

ceiling 2.jpg

still one of my favorites

mirror.jpg

someday i will take the reflection out and put something ghostly in its place

blue eyes.jpg

goose

bolts.jpg

Bolts from heaven?

Fav Song of the moment – “No Souvenirs” – Melissa Etheridge

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

2 responses to “Monkey Island – Collab”

  1. Bonnie says :

    Lol!! Cute poem! Good song, too.

Leave a Reply

