Photo(s) of the Day – Round 5

I’ve been taking a photo a day since December 9th and uploading it to facebook – then I ran into a cool blog where they take a photo a day and post the photos in a weekly blog. So I thought, hey, I should steal that idea (before they pass a law to make that illegal too!).

Just one more and I am caught up!

These photos were taken with my cell phone, using the Retro Camera app.

More tomorrow.

Tags: , ,

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

8 responses to “Photo(s) of the Day – Round 5”

  1. Juli Hoffman says :

    Cool art! Love the snowy pic. ๐Ÿ™‚ Russian shooter gloves? You’ll have to post a pic of those, as I’m not sure what those would look like! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Towel Blanket! You have NO idea how much I thought about this after your original post! When my kiddo was an infant, I had thought about making a blanket out of towels. Why? Because babies are messy and there’s lots of leaking involved when you have one of those little buggers around! Plus, I nursed my kiddo so that was another natural bodily function that was was messy and leaky…and did I mention I prefer kids when they’re a little older? It’s hard to tell, right? LOL Anyways, I had thought how cool it would be to have an absorbent soft blanket made of towels, that I could throw in the wash. I had it all thought out…waaaayyyyy back then. It was going to be made of blocks, sort of like a rag quilt. Then the kiddo got older, yada, yada, yada. I NEVER made the blanket. But now…well, you got me thinking about it again. It would still be soft. I could curl up under it when I’m sitting with my coffee and my laptop. I don’t know. I still sort of want to see if I could do it. If I ever attempt to make it, I’ll post pics.

    This wouldn’t be the first “crazy Juli sewing project.” So far, the winner of that award goes to sewing up TWO nun work habits. Yup! I had to make a pattern too, using one of her old ones. ๐Ÿ™‚ Did you know that nun’s have to make all their own habits, or someone has to sew them for them? I’m NOT Catholic, so I had NO Clue! You’d think somebody would have a catalog where you can order the dang things! I searched all over the Internet, and anything that was out there was hundreds and hundreds of dollar! Hello? Has anyone heard about this vow of poverty? I don’t think they have $500 to spend on an outfit! I know I don’t. This nun was in her 80s and feisty as all out! Our personalities clicked. Long story short, I told her that if she would provide the fabric, I’d do the rest. Funny stuff! They turned out well. Lots of laughs from everyone at MY expense. “You’re sewing a what? Wait! You? YOU are sewing a habit for a nun? What?” Followed by jokes of whether or not this would send me straight to hell…and I don’t mean in Michigan! LOL My hubby got a GOOD chuckle out of my insanity. He was brought up Catholic. He keeps threatening to buy me a “Mary is my Home-girl” t-shirt to commemorate the event, and crazy woman that I am, I’d probably wear it. ๐Ÿ™‚ The truth is, I just wanted to see if I could do it, another project…because I’m almost running out, NOT!

    Take Care, Jo! Feel better soon!

    • Joleene Naylor says :

      500$!?!?!?!?!? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

      That’s crazy! Now see, you should have saved that pattern and make them and sell them for 75$ – huge discount for the nuns, cash for you…. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Though I wonder if you go to hell for overcharging nuns? On the other hand, it’s a lot cheaper than everyone else is doing ti for… Maybe you could plead your case?

      Yeah, I think the way to do it is in blocks. I wonder if it wouldn’t be nice to actually make it sort of quilted…. Someday I will learn to sew :p

      • Juli Hoffman says :

        I used butcher paper to make the pattern based on her old one. It’s sitting in a tote with my sewing stuff around here somewhere.

        $500 for a work habit SHOULD send you to hell! Their work habits aren’t as elaborate as the black and white ones you think of when you picture a nun. They don’t get as dressed up when they’re cleaning or working outside. I have pictures around here somewhere. I should post them if I can find them. I saw one site charging close to $1000 for the black and white ones. That’s about what I paid for my last car. What a rip off! How do these people live with themselves?

        I swear, my social blunders have allowed me to meet the most interesting people! Maybe it’s a small town mentality, but deep down, I think most people are more alike than different. Since I’m NOT Catholic, this nun and I used to talk about everything BUT religion. I met her through work. Very fascinating woman! She used to take time out of her schedule to visit with me about once a week, before I transferred to a different work location. I think she liked being able to talk to someone outside the convent, who would joke around with her and just treated her like any other person.

        Now…back to “our” blanket project! LOL
        If you wanted to quilt it, I think you’d want to stick with a natural cotton batting as the filler or at least a really thin batting if you went poly, so it will dry after washing it. I’m a lazy quilter/sewer. I don’t pre-wash anything. The towels would shrink a bit the first time you washed it, giving you that puffy look you think of when you look at a handmade quilt.

        Here’s a thought. Would you use regular fabric for the back or more towels? I usually cheat, and use a flat sheet for the back of the quilts I’ve sewed, that way you have a HUGE piece of fabric to work with, no seams. Back when I first thought about making a towel blanket, I hadn’t thought about quilting it with all the layers, etc. I had thought about using pinking sheers on the edges, and leaving the seams purposely showing, with the hope that they’d get all fuzzy looking after a washing or two, like chenille. I’ve seen rag quilts done up this way.

        Crap! It just hit me as I’m typing. I wonder if the “boxes” in my dream were quilt blocks? Well shoot! That’s not nearly as exciting as your mystical theory. Plus, why would you need to go to Paris for that? Fancy Parisian towel emergency? Gesh!

        • Joleene Naylor says :

          1000$!?!?!?!?!?! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ yeah, I think we paid like 1400$ for our last car…. No way I;d pay that for a single habit! Okay, I admit, I would;t pay more than 10$, not being a nun and all, but even if I was a nun…..

          I’m tellin’ ya – nun habits – a niche market ๐Ÿ˜‰

          Hmmm. The big sheet would be easier, but then you loose the fuzzy, comfy towel backing… so I’d think there’s have to be towels on the back too for that lovely texture ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, a thin batting would be the way to go, just enough to give it a little weight.

          ha ha! speaking of dreams! So I had a super guest star dream the other day. It started with the old MySpace poetry group, we were all together for some sort of poetry convention thing, in Omaha (no idea) so then we go out to get food, and you were driving, i was in the passenger seat and my best fiend from high school was in the backseat, so we’re in this bad neighborhood (way worse than anything I’ve ever seen in omaha!) and there’s someone shooting at us! The bullets were like going through the car right near my head and I was hysterically screaming at you to go faster before we got killed. so then we went to the mall and I had a breakdown and you guys took me to starbucks to calm down – ha! We need to find some dream analyzers for these things! :p

          • Juli Hoffman says :

            Well…if was driving in your dream, maybe we were in Detroit. I take a lot of my cemetery pics in Detroit. Though I’ve never been shot at, the last time I was in the “D,” I did see some prostitutes, tons of abandoned houses, and I saw a drug deal go down in broad daylight while I was waiting at the light. Good times! I take my friends to the nicest places. ๐Ÿ˜‰ LOL

            At least we had the sense to get coffee in your dream! Coffee fixes just about everything! LMAO!

Leave a Reply

