Collab Poem: Blue Waters

(from August 2008)

This time there was a theme: Country Songs, so, I wrote a country song 🙂

I did do a pic-n-poem version using a random photobucket photo, but since it has a person in it that I don’t know, I am running the text only version:

Down by the creek,
A soft kiss on the cheek
Two kids at play, on a summer’s simple day
They grew too soon
And she moved away from you
But you smiled like you were dyin’
And the world whistled your tune

They say Blue Waters run deep
And you play that song so well my friend
So open the curtains and take one last bow
Fly high and proud, and if you should fall,
Remember you almost had it all.
Where the circles never broken and life keeps going
Round-n-round

Eat at Joe’s,
The best food we know
Don’t go too fast or you’ll miss out all the fun
Don’t give up tryin’
Live like you’re dyin’
Take this advice
And, my friend, you will be smilin’

They say Blue Waters run deep
And you play that song so well my friend
So open the curtains and take one last bow
Fly high and proud, and if you should fall,
Remember you almost had it all.
Where the circles never broken and life keeps going
Round-n-round

Oh, the crowd,
Whistles and shouts
Next time, maybe, we’ll try something new
We’re up high
In a sunny yellow sky
I think I’m the only one who sees
We’re just pretending, you and I

They say Blue Waters run deep

And you play that song so well my friend….
Yes, you always do….

I find myself
On a lost, dusty shelf
Brush off the dirt to see if I still shine
Just like the rainbow
Follows the storm
You ain’t seen nothing yet
We’re worn but still goin’ strong

They say Blue Waters run deep
And you play that song so well my friend
So open the curtains and take one last bow
Fly high and proud, and if you should fall,
Remember you almost had it all.
Where the circles never broken and life keeps going
Round-n-round

Song playing at the moment – “Addicted” – Ace Young

Tags: , , , , ,

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

5 responses to “Collab Poem: Blue Waters”

  1. Juli Hoffman says :

    This could EASILY be turned into a song…says the woman who did NOT inherit the musical talent in the family. Hmm… Anyways, I like it! 🙂

  2. DM Yates says :

    Your poems really center on the feelings of people so well. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

