I’ve Forgotten the Point – Look, a Flower

I see I haven’t posted here since October. Wow. I really miss blogging – I mean REAL blogging as opposed to the author blog. Sure, it’s fun sometimes, I get to write vampire short stories and post writer related things, but geeze. I do have other interests. I remember waaaaay back on MySpace when I first started toying with the idea of trying to publish. A fellow blogger had already written a book and was taking the plunge. Among the comments on his blog was one from another writer about which sites and newsletter he needed to subscribe to in order to “keep his finger on the pulse of the industry”. The advice went on to surround himself with writers, join writer websites, live and breathe writer things. I thought “I don’t want to do that! I have too many varied interests to limit myself like this.” Yeah? Well ask me about the pulse of the industry. I can tell you. Ask me what kind of book covers sell which kind of books. I can tell you. Ask me what KDP Select has done to undermine ebook sales. I can tell you. Guess who I mostly talk to? Writers. Guess what websites I am subscribed to? Writer websites. Guess what newsletters I read?

You get the point. (And yet I am still not a multi-million book selling author. How unfair is that?)

I like writing. I REALLY like writing, and I’d like to do more of it. But I like other things too. I like to have other conversations. I want to write other blog posts. Somehow, I just never have time. I’ve been toying with trying to do a post a day, even if it’s just a photo or a comment, but I usually fail at those because invariably a day comes when I don’t have time, and once you miss it, it makes it so much easier to keep missing it.

(to illustrate my time point, I’m now on day 2 of working on this blog post! Geeze!)

So what’s the point of this post, you wonder. If it helps, I’m asking myself the same question. I probably had something in mind when I started it, but I’ve now forgotten it. Blame it on the fever.

So, here’s a random flower photo

Lily

Lily

wpid-signature.png

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

2 responses to “I’ve Forgotten the Point – Look, a Flower”

  1. Susan says :

    We’re writers we talk eat read breathe writing. Most other things bore me

    I’m using this profile cause that’s what I’m signed into – wordpress actually fixed everything – go figure

    • Joleene Naylor says :

      I enjoy talking about my writing – but not really, the writing, just the story. Talking about writing – like writing mechanics, or writer’s biographies or that stuff bores me to tears. If I had to actually pick something to eat and breathe it would probably be visual art. Though I dunno. I get bored doing any one thing for too long, I guess. I need to do manga/graphic novels then it’s both wrapped up together. Or learn animation.

      Yay for them fixing things đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

