Photography: Akard Cemetery

Felt pretty crappy yesterday, as you may have guessed from the blog, so I didn’t get much done. I did get some photos from November uploaded, so I guess I’ll share those with you.

They’re from Akard Cemetery, which is near Fairplay. It’s well kept, and across the road from a house.  It’s actually quite crowded with stones, many of them closer together than usual, with a good mix of mid to late 1800s clear up to modern sites (Roger, who used to live next door to my Father-in-Law is buried there). Half of it is on top of a hill (mostly newer stones) and very windy, and the older portion is down at the bottom. For the most part it had a good atmosphere but towards the trees at the back, near the bottom corner, there’s are two spots that are creepy. In the first there aren’t really any tombstones , just a few purposely placed rocks and remnants of tombstones – or what I took to be remnants. They may have actually been just rocks, too.  But the second, and creepiest, has actual stones sort of higelty pigelty. If I recall they were mostly babies and children, whose stones I usually have an affinity for, but I can’t remember for certain and it’s been a few months. I don’t know any history on the place, but for what it’s worth it was a nice cemetery to photograph. I just wish we’d gone earlier in the day – you can see by the photos that we went towards sundown and so got a lot of shadows. Luckily most of the stones faced west so we could still get a clear image of the faces.

And with that here’s some photos and now I have to suck it up and get some work done.

wpid-signature.png

There’s more on my Flickr as usual – http://www.flickr.com/photos/pandora_6666/sets/72157642832885915/

Tags: , , , ,

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

Leave a Reply

