Blah Blah

I have a decent klout score. For those who have no idea what I mean, klout is a website that tracks your “influence” by looking at your tweets and FB posts and stuff like that. Anyway, klout members get “perks”, which mainly means free stuff they want you to try and review. I’ve never managed to opt in to one in time to get it – they send a mass email and it’s first come first serve until they’re out – but I finally did! I got a book!

Cool cover

Cool cover

Since I have yet to find my kindle I was delighted. Now… I dunno. I admit I am only a chapter in, but it hasn’t gripped me yet. I’m hoping it will improve, though. For one thing it’s first person – which I loath most of the time – and it’s… Well, anyway, I’ll finish it first.

There is nothing of interest to mention about Monday except to say that Casey’s sells bacon cheese potato wedges.

Heart attack in a box

Heart attack in a box

Dad brought Chris back and so we ended up watching TV. We watched Captain America 2 (I’d seen it before but it’s worth watching), Supershark, which was as bad as it’s name implies, but fun, and Not Another Sci-Fi movie which was funny IMHO despite the bad reviews. In fact it was refreshing. We recently watched Starving Games, and while it has funny moments, it had the same problem that most modern spoof movies have – it follows the base material almost exactly with a few cornball jokes. Kind of like the old Mad Magazine movie spoofs. Not Another Sci-Fi Movie, on the other hand, had an original story line, a plot unique to itself, that manages to make fun of the other movies in that genre, like Hot Shots, Wrongfully Accused, and the older spoof movies used to. Okay, so the effects and writing on Not Another Sci-Fi Movie aren’t Leslie Neilson standards, but they were good enough to amuse me.
On Tuesday we woke up to workmen parking in front of our house.

I still don't know what they're doing

I still don’t know what they’re doing

It’s vaguely important to note that these guys have spent the summer working all over town. They’ve been systematically going street by street, and the little flags that have been appearing in our yard like late blooming flowers clued us in that they were coming. I still expected some kind of notice, however. A note taped to the door, stuck in the mailbox, something. We got nothing, and I still have no clue who they work for, why they are digging up half the town, or what that orange sheathed cable is.
We had lunch to the refrains of the dog barking.

The last of the free cucumbers

The last of the free cucumbers

steak sandwich ala hubby

steak sandwich ala hubby

Then hubby and I ran to Red Oak to spend the last of our cash on the stuff to hook the dryer up.

Pretty clouds

Pretty clouds

We found this abandoned at True Value. Makes you wonder what project the owner was working on.

We found this abandoned at True Value. Makes you wonder what project the owner was working on.

Then we headed home and had an ice cream break.

With sprinkles!

With sprinkles!

Then we got to work. I admit I spent most of my time on the laptop working on a movie poster:

wpid-wp-1411663072970

Also a QSL card for Bob Heil, who is a bit of a celebrity in the ham radio world. (He has a Wikipedia page. Look him up)

wpid-wp-1411663203629

wpid-wp-1411663209717

And I colored those airplanes, but I haven’t uploaded them yet, so no preview.

While I was busy with that, hubby and the brother got some stuff done. They installed the dryer.

img_20140924_243650545

And got the doors on the bathroom cabinet.

They look sharp

They look sharp

And some other touch up crap. The fun thing to note is that as part of the dryer assembly we bought a heat saver thing that you can click open and it will pump the warm dryer air into the house instead of venting it outside, which probably helps in the freezing, freezing, Iowa winter (especially since there is no heater vent in the laundry room).

This is it

This is it

It comes with a panty hose sock – this is literally what it is, reinforced toes and all – that you put on it to filter the lint from the air. So, we tried it and….

img_20140924_244000460

*cough*cough*cough* I think you can come up with all the comments yourself.
And I leave you with that. Have a good one!
Jo 🙂

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

Leave a Reply

