In Which Hubby Gets a Job

On Thursday we woke to an even bigger mess in the yard:

BURYING COFFINS?

BURYING COFFINS?

This is my flowerbed. In my back yard. Against the back of my house.

This is my flowerbed. In my back yard. Against the back of my house.

The culprits. But who are they?

The culprits. But who are they?

I wanted to go demand who they were and what they were doing, but hubby rushed me off because we were running late already. There were three jobs in the paper he was interested in; two in red Oak and one in Shenandoah. Though we whine about how far away Shen is, it’s actually .3 miles closer – or so Google says – yet it takes 48 minutes to get there – versus Springfield’s 30 or less – because of the 55 MPH speed limit. Get with the times, Iowa!

Anyway, we went to Red Oak first.

Rural

Rural

A little water building

A little water building

Autumn

Autumn

Hubby got two apps and we went to the park so he could fill them out.

the water tower

the water tower

Hubby fills out his applications

Hubby fills out his applications

IMG_20140925_121203989

The mosquitoes have been bad this year, and as we sat there one the size of a B47 started to buzz around. I did what anyone would do. I smacked it. the sucker exploded in a spray of blood. All over Hubby’s application. Whoops. I washed most of it off, but it was in a section he didn’t need anyway.

Despite the blood spot, he got the job, so he is no longer an unemployed bum, ha ha! He starts Wednesday and is working in an assisted living place. He was hoping to get out of health care, but as he said, a job is a job. And he can always find another one later.

We didn’t technically *need* to go to Shen anymore, since he didn’t need to put in for the job, but we’d planned to see Dad and Mel, so we went anyway.

Random grain elevator. there is one or more in every town, even the tiny ones. This is why I put my vampires underneath them; it makes the location a bit more ambiguous since it could be ANYWHERE.

Random grain elevator. there is one or more in every town, even the tiny ones. This is why I put my vampires underneath them; it makes the location a bit more ambiguous since it could be ANYWHERE.

cool building in Essex

cool building in Essex

We detoured to Porter’s Lake because hubby had never been. Porter’s Lake is really a pond that has a park around it, including a small play area and a roller skating rink from eons ago. The rink is only open for rentals – for instance you might rent it for your youth group to go have a skating party. I have been in it a few times for school skating parties and once with my dad’s work (their yearly picnic). It’s also the place my grandma and grandpa Harris met. Back then it was open every weekend and was the popular place to go. Grandpa was a bouncer and threw someone through a window or something like that. I admit I am sketchy on the details, but anyway, it was worth a stop.

While we were playing on the merry-g-round dad called to say his car was down – again. This time it’s the water pump, so we went and picked him up and brought him to Shen where we hit Mondo’s first:

You thought I was gonna order spaghetti, didn't you?

You thought I was gonna order spaghetti, didn’t you?

And then hy-vee where they had a lot of pretty flowers:

We went back to dad’s, hung out for awhile, then went back to Shen and hung out with Mel and her kids, then did our Wal-Mart shopping and headed home, where we found the brother watching TV, as he admitted he had done all day. Not super productive where the house is concerned, but hey, he got a job, so that’s something. I then stayed up all night working on a couple of covers, which I am waiting to hear back on, so fingers crossed and I will end this here since it’s so photo heavy.

On second thought, I will leave you with this:

Hello!

Hello!

Have a good one!

Jo 🙂

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

Leave a Reply

