Rethinking

The blowing snow of the night before settled into a lovely blanket.

image

We started out positive yesterday. The outdoor Christmas lights got removed, I sorted through the Christmas cards we received and discarded envelopes. I washed the windows and the outside of the washer and dryer. The brother squeegeed the sidewalk:

image

We had a tasty and delicious lunch:

image

I made a cake:

image

And then… It collapsed. Dad came to take the brother to see The Hobbit (you’d be right in assuming I have already seen it – twice – however the brother has been sick and so did not accompany us) and with his taking off, why should the rest of us work?
I say that but in truth I did work – on my book. Mainly I had a serious problem wherein I was out of plot. Nothing to do but the final battle. Yadda yadda. Only I’m four chapters short. Now a lot of writers would say “go for it and make it short”, which sounds great except there are these annoying things called days. It is going to take the bad guys so many *days* to get to the place where the final battle is and have the proper events happen. Meanwhile my protagonist (since I do third person single point of view for all the books) has nothing to do but wait. Sure I can do a ” several days later ” cheat but it doesn’t fit the rest of the pacing… Anyway so I had to reread the first 2/3 of the book looking for some kind of loose end and, god love my sporadic writing, I found one. So now I have a direction again. Truth be told, I should be doing it now. That’s why I took two weeks off from book covers. Though I am imagining the pile of email I’ll have and am cringing. Auto reply or not.
OK. Two things. First, hubby has two job interviews tomorrow, so send good vibes. And lastly, enjoy a cat in a box for no reason.

image

Have a good one!
Jo 🙂

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

2 responses to “Rethinking”

  1. Steve Evans says :

    Go Charles…ask when you start as you come into the room. Gives them a chance to say, “How about now?”

    Jo glad you found the thread. My experience, such as it is, is that once you start a book, it is a great danger to stop for any length of time. You’re probably different, but what seems to happen to me is that even though the plot is all worked out, somehow the danging thread of where I left off is just not fitting into a new bit of cotton…it can take days until it comes back. So I am pretty uneasy with taking more than a day or two off, and even those make me wary. the good part is that something does happen so long as you keep trying. So say I.

    Have a good one you.

    • Joleene Naylor says :

      Yes, i work better if i can just sit down and do it all day after day instead of breaking it up over a long period. That’s why I’m hiding out for two weeks to try to finish it. Now i think i have to much plot though ha ha!

Leave a Reply

