Snowmageddon

All day yesterday they said it was coming. But it was late afternoon before anything except rain started to fall.

image

It picked up a little bit when we went to Red Oak.

image

But still nothing to brag about. In Red Oak, hy-vee was full of people buying giant shopping carts of food and talking about the coming storm. I’ve seen this before. At least once a winter in Bolivar people clean out the shelves, terrified of a repeat of the ice storm of 2008. (If you do not remember this, look it up. It was quite a thing. In the aftermath, we had no electricity or running water for a week.) The repeat never comes. A couple inches of snow falls, melts two days later and we’re done. Deep snow fall is so rare that we don’t even have a snow shovel. So, I admit, we didn’t take the locals’ flurry of terror seriously.
And by seven p.m., as we sat eating our breakfast for dinner, I still didn’t.

image

I was up until 5 a.m. writing (the epic battle is FINALLY done except that I forgot to kill someone, so I have to snick back and do that.) And I *still* was not impressed with what was less than an inch of snow.
Then I got up today.

image

Snowmageddon!!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Snow!!!! You can see from a few pictures that we have some branches down. That’s nothing new, these trees throw them at us routinely, but the Poe tree has suffered a major casualty.

image

So as I sit here writing this and enjoying the snowy view through the window, guess where my husband is? Remember that we don’t own a snow shovel? Yeah. He went to Red Oak to buy a snow shovel. Craziness.
So I am going to go make lunch and then enjoy writing with a snowageddon backdrop and a cup of cocoa.
Have a good one!
Jo 🙂

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

Leave a Reply

