I’m a Coward

I missed yesterday. not that you missed much. I had a blog started, then the blue screen of death took it away and I never got back to it. I have some things to try to fix the BoD, but it’s a matter of getting to it.

Have book covers to work on, instead I have been organizing my book notes (I’m on page 34 of 258). My notes are like an encyclopedia – which is what I am planning to eventually turn them into, though a bit edited since some of it is on a need to know basis. Anyway, I had to look something in the unpublished prequel, Patrick, and got lost reading it.

I wrote Patrick a couple of years ago (it’s a prequel to the vampire series) and had actually planned to publish it. When people ask me why I haven’t I always cite a time line problem (There really is one. Hailey is pregnant in January, but in August she’s only six months along – this happened because I had to move a huge chunk of story and just didn’t think about it.) Truth is, I could fix the timeline problem by moving the Hailey subplot. It doesn’t HAVE to start in January. it could move to April, I’m sure. I’ve reworked things that were far more complicated. So what’s the hold up?

I’m a coward.

Patrick is very, very different than the rest of the series. It’s written from Patrick’s point of view, and he doesn’t like descriptions, and he cusses a lot, and he likes short, quick scenes, and he has a pretty miserable life. It’s far closer to the stuff I used to write (maybe the stuff I prefer to write), and so it got mixed reviews from the beta readers. No, I’ll be honest. Mixed reviews I could have dealt with. It was the, “I hate it! I hate it! I am literally in tears because it’s the worst book I’ve ever read!” that clenched it. (To this day I have not  read the second half of that beta’s notes because I couldn’t deal with it. You can only take so many all caps sentences about how terrible it is before you give up.)  After that violent reaction I have this terror that everyone will think that. And though I’m not normally a “these books are my babies” kinda gal, that one is a far closer representation of the books I would write if I had the gonads to do it. (which I obviously don’t.)

The sad thing is that aside from the time line issue, and some character development (the trouble with writing a character you already know well is that you forget other people don’t know him), and some small things like that, I like it. I think it’s good. It’s twisted, and it’s dark, and it’s sick. But then maybe I have bad taste. Maybe I just like horrible, terrible, bad things.

*sigh*

Anyway, when I started this blog I had decided I was going to rework the book (after Clash of Legends is published) and at the very least offer it free for the newsletter sign up, but the more I think about what the beta said, the more I think I probably won’t.

In other news, if you want to see the paperback collector’s edition cover of Clash of Legends, check out my author blog after 5pm (I think that’s when it’s scheduled to post). I started doing some other character artwork last night and hope to get some squeezed in today, as well as finishing up some book cover stuff. Good times.

Have good one!

Jo 🙂

PS – Ah, why wait until 5? Here’s both covers in all their glory:

ebook and regular paperback edition

ebook and regular paperback edition

Paperback collector's edition

Paperback collector’s edition

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

5 responses to “I’m a Coward”

  1. sstogner1 says :

    wha? I liked it! didn’t I…?

  2. Maegan Provan says :

    I know that the thought of a negative reaction is scary, but I do hope that you release it.

  3. Steve Evans says :

    Jo as one of your beta readers, I liked that book a lot as you know and would like you to publish it. Your latest which I am reading at the mo is also very good but Patrick is a standout in my opinion and you should go for it.

    Yours as the usual moral dwarf, S

Leave a Reply

