You Won’t Believe This!

Or maybe you will. The book deadline is approaching. Release date is March 31, 2015, but because I am doing pre-orders on Amazon and Smashwords I need to have the manuscript finished, formatted, and uploaded by the 21st. Amazon has kindly been reminding me:

amazon2

A well organized author would have had that done, anyway, but I’m not well organized. I straddle the edge of chaos, so I’ve been working on it like a madwoman. At last, today, I finished (with a word count of 118,000 might I add. I trimmed 22,000 words from the first draft), and so I formatted. I uploaded to Smashwords, then flipped to Amazon, clicked the “update book details” button and….

amazon

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!! After all the reminders, I *can’t* upload the final version. I *really* wanted to be done with this today so I could spend tomorrow trying to make myself and my house look less like something from the movie Gummo. (Look it up, but if you watch it, don’t blame me. It’s time you’ll never get back.)

It’s not just amazon that’s being weird. I have a happy Slacker subscription, so I did a search for Summer Wine by Ville Valo, and of course they don;t have the license to play it on demand (this happens a lot) but they could make me a station of similar songs. The first song that pops up?

slacker

The whole world has gone crazy.

Anyway, I now need to get the paperback formatted and uploaded. They don’t do pre-order, so as soon as it’s published, it’s published. I also need to make the collector’s edition, oh and the two wrap around covers. Then I need to change my wallpaper from blue to yellow everywhere for my branding, and I need to get the images made for the giveaway, and then I have some books covers to do for other people (six of them I think, and two to fix for someone). It never ends. But that’s how we know we’re alive. if we have nothing to do but sit and stare at the wall, then what’s the point?

Have a good one!

Jo 🙂

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

One response to “You Won’t Believe This!”

  1. Juli Hoffman says :

    Yikes! Crossing my fingers and sending positive thoughts your way..

Leave a Reply

