Daily Life in South West Iowa

I mentioned the Harsh Reality challenge the other day. Now that my book is uploaded, I finally had a day that involved more than the laptop.
That doesn’t mean it’s interesting. You were warned.

Today was a lovely cloudy day.

image

I walked the dog, then I got to play the “what does not belong” game. Can you guess?

image

Hint: it’s the fuzzy thing.

After all those days on the laptop I decided I wasn’t going to be on it today, so I posted my promo pic

image

Then I shut it off and Dad and I gleefully ran away for the day.

image

After a stop at the local Casey’s…

image

We were on our way. (Casey’s is notable because, when we first looked into moving to Villisca, one of our complaints was that there was nothing here. Having lived in Bolivar MO, which is 20 minutes from Springfield, we were not impressed when people’s reply was “but there’s a Casey’s.” Our reaction was “So? Wow. There’s a gas station.” Except, when that’s what you’ve got, you realize it’s not only a gas station but also a sub shop, a pizza place, a lunch counter, and a convenience store. Now when someone says “what do you have in Villisca?” I cheerfully say “Casey’s!”)
After Casey’s we drove 20 minutes to go through the roaring city of Clarinda:

image

Past fields where the farmers are burning off their fence rows

image

Past an insane number of geese

image

image

image

Yeah. Maybe that’s an excessive amount of photos but I was trying to capture the sheer volume of them.
At last we made it the 30-some miles to the ever exciting Shenandoah.

image

You may wonder what’s in Shenandoah, the answer is….

image

I grew up in Shenandoah area, so I’ve been eating at Mondo’s since I was born – probably before I was born. Usually I get spaghetti, but it was a breakfast kind of day:

image

Shenandoah also has Hy-Vee

image

Where dad did not win the lottery

image

Shenandoah also has Walmart.

image

Which has an awesome yard gnome I want

image

A red box that is really blue

image

And even odder, a four legged duck.

image

I could not resist it, so I bought it for my friend’s daughter. Of note is that this Walmart does not carry flag clips, so we purchased shower curtain rings, which seem like the same kind of thing to me.
Other things Shen has are the treasure shop.

image

image

Where we bought nothing and the gun shop

image

image

They have quite a collection of Aflac geese.

image

Finally we went to the afore mentioned friend’s house and, after a visit, the 40 minutes home in time to meet hubby just coming in from work.

image

The hubby and brother were going to hang the second of the double doors (one is up but because the door frame is crooked the other one needed saved shorter) only it wasn’t sanded enough so the poor brother was back to it

image

While hubby and I made a run to Clarinda (again), past a lovely sunset

image

image

To Pizza Hut!

image

Then home again where we enjoyed our Super Supreme pizza (add Salami)

image

And our giant cookie that Freddie Kruger cut

image

And we watched Box Trolls, which I enjoyed. But then I love stop motion animation, and creepy British children’s stories, so put the two together and what’s not to love?
Now I am posting this, then it’s bed time so I can leap up and pack tomorrow. Wheeee! Vacation for Jo! Well, sort of.
Hope you enjoyed my uneventful day. It’s not really my daily-day, which is even less interesting, but it’s a standard “out with Dad” day, so it counts.
Have a good one!
Jo 🙂

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

One response to “Daily Life in South West Iowa”

  1. Steve Evans says :

    It’s the windows that don’t belong and that is why the cat is up there agog at these wrongly sited windows. I feel sure this is just as obvious to all your other fans as it is to me.

    You forgot to mention The Everly Brothers when you spoke so glowingly of Shenandoah, or for that matter Charlie Haden. Nor did I see any black armbands or flags at half mast for the Everly who fell by the wayside shall we say last year. Something is wrong in the state of Iowa, town of Shenandoah…maybe its Charlie taking out a resentment.

    Those geese are pretty incredible. Are they there voluntarily or being herded by someone who plans pate do foie gras from their inestimable livers?.

    Pretty good day all in all. Where are you headed next?

Leave a Reply

