Simulated Chalkboard Labels and Other Things

I’m on page 50 of the handbook with only 40-some left to go. I need to get with it.
In plant news, the hanging basket plants that were on death’s door are getting better:

image

image

The bizarre find of the day:

image

Though it’s hard to see, someone carved Patt into the door frame. This was hitherto unnoticed by us, but has been there a long time, as whoever did the bad varnish job varnished over it. Thank you Patt.
In organization news, I organized the bathroom cabinet:

image

And in failed projects I learned that liquid nails does not stick to rope.

image

The goal is to wrap the garbage can in it. Google says to try hot glue, which is packed, so might be easier to buy a new gun.
And now for the craft success. I got my cook book covers done:

image

How did I do it? First I covered them in wrapping paper (and rubber cement), then I printed out my patterns while that dried – and cut them out:

image

The shape I stole from a website selling chalk board stickers and then I enlarged it. The font is by Kimberly G (I forget her name) but I paid 5$ for it a bit back. I went ahead and printed this out because my hand lettering sucks.
I cut the “labels” out of black card stock, then flipped the words over and “colored” over them with a number 2 pencil.

image

Then, centered them on the label…

image

And traced them with the same pencil, pressing fairly hard.

image

When I was done I had this:

image

Ta da! Like the old carbon paper. To simulate chalk I used white paint and a tiny brush:

image

Then when they dried (which was hard to wait for!) I glued them on:

image

A layer of clear contact paper later, and they are kitchen ready. Now to get a red folder for that cook book of mom’s…
And it’s now almost 4 so I really need to hit the hay. Have a good one!
Jo 🙂
PS – bonus sunset pics:

image

image

Posted from WordPress for Android

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

2 responses to “Simulated Chalkboard Labels and Other Things”

  1. dm yates says :

    Wow, the house is looking great. AND you’ve given me some ideas for my cookbook covers.

Leave a Reply

