Quote a Day Challenge

yeah, it’s been a week or so. I’m bad. I kept meaning to blog, but I had hubby all week. Today he is back to work (thank goodness) and so things can get back to normal-ish. Not that I minded having him around, in fact I had plans for lots few stuff to get done – but he refused to cooperate and mostly things were just a dragged out do-nothing-fest.

Anyway, I’ve been challenged to do the quote challenge (again) by Waffle me This, who has quite an interesting blog, might I add. Since there are a million amazing quotes out there, I’m happy to participate. This time I’m going for quotes from songs.

In the nineties, I was a teenager. Television was full of shows and movies that demonstrated the wonders of eternal fun, excitement and wonder that awaited us. We had only to get a little older, grab some booze, snort some drugs, or go to college, or get married, and we would live in a rush of ecstatic joy and delirious excitement. Luckily the world of music had some bits of wisdom in it, if you knew where to look, which contributed to my well balanced view of adulthood, and left me a lot less shocked, depressed, and horrified as it did some of my contemporaries (some of whom are still scrambling, looking for all the special “amazing adult-y-ness” that does not exist).

Soul Asylum was especially good at this (though they had an annoying habit of having an awesome song, and then adding one really bad line or verse that ruined the whole thing – Tell me When Does Life Begin is a classic example of this) and their album Let Your Dim Light Shine is still one of my favorites. Today’s quote of the day comes from Nothing to Write Home About:

No one told me people could be so cruel,

Nobody told me about any of this in school,

and still nobody understands the things that I don’t understand

Not an upbeat quote at face value, but underneath it is because -while it’s stating a sad fact – it’s also validating that you’re not the only one who feels this way. It’s just part of the adult condition because there IS no adult condition, no adult moment when we all understand, or know, or any of the rest of it, and it’s not just YOU who doesn’t seem to get it, no one does. They just pretend better sometimes.

What can I say, I was deep at fifteen.

I’m supposed to nominate/tag three bloggers, but today I’m cheating and saying if you’re reading this, feel free to do it. It’s a fun challenge.

I did get my Amaranthine handbook done and sent out to newsletter subscribers – wOOt! Now I need to resize the pages to 8×10 (I’m on page 23 of 101) and put it into a PDF to get the paperback ready to go. There’s roughly one person who wants the paperback, but they’re related to me, so it’s worth the effort.

I’ll end this here. I have an award from YesterdayAfter I will be putting up in the next few days, too 🙂

Have a good one,

Jo 🙂

PS. Here’s a gallery of random photos from the last week that I didn’t blog. Aren’t you excited?

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

2 responses to “Quote a Day Challenge”

  1. wafflemethis says :

    Brilliant post. Like the idea of the song quotes☺

Leave a Reply

