Quote Day 2

It’s day two of my quote challenge. Waffle Me This was awesome enough to tag me to do this – it’s easy to participate. Just post one quote a day, and then challenge other bloggers to do the same. I should do that like I’m supposed to; but I don’t know who to tag. I hit everyone who likes these things last time, I think.

My quotes are going to come from music this time. Yesterday was Soul Asylum, a band I like, and today’s is from a song by Cracker, a band I don’t  like. They’re not *bad*, they just never appealed to me, musically. However their song “Get on With it” has an awesome quote in it:

If you wanna change the world
Shut your mouth and start this minute.

So many people run around talking, and talking, and talking about how terrible the world is, how unfair, how unequal, how other people (or themselves) are being abused, misused, mistreated, etc. etc. but these talkers do absolutely zero to make the world better. When this is pointed out, the usual reply is “I can’t change it by myself!” No, you can’t, but you also don’t need to tackle world hunger in order to make the world better. Try doing something for someone near you – someone you know, someone you don’t. Even just something tiny like mowing an infirm neighbor’s yard – that just made her world a better place. You can’t make the world better for everyone, but you can make it better for someone, so shut up with all the talking, get off your but and do it.

That applies to everything. not just the world in general, but *your* world. Unhappy with your circumstances? You may not be able to just leap up and “fix” everything – heck, some of it may be completely un-“fixable” (like chronic illness or some financial situations) but you can do little things to improve your world. Lonely? Most communities have events of some kind you can go to to meet people, or you can try church, even if you’re not religious. Most churches are pretty friendly, and if you’re not into what they preach let it go in one ear and out another. Volunteer somewhere, get friendly with a co-worker. Heck, make some online friends. Feel bad about yourself? Ask yourself why – what is it that you dislike about yourself so much? Is it “fixable” at all? If so make an effort, even if it’s small, and if it’s not “fixable” (like an amputee can’t regrow arms) then instead work on accepting and “fixing” your attitude. (I use the word fix in lieu of a better one). Basically stop whining and waiting for the universe to fix everything for you, get off your bum, and DO something because no one is going to do it for you – no one is going to change it for you.

And though I dislike that song, I try to take that meaning to heart. Quit saying what you’re gonna do, or what you want done, and just do it.

In other news the handbook formatting is a pain because turns out I didn’t allow for enough bleed – my fault – so I redid the 36 I had done. Then it turned out my page numbering got off so I re-did-for-a-second-time the first 36. I’m now on 50-something. Yay!

In handy-house news there’s some twibbly stuff, but nothing huge. So i leave you with some old photos from my Flickr. One of these days I need to take a month and take off the last year and a half worth of photos I have collected but not edited or uploaded.

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

One response to “Quote Day 2”

  1. wafflemethis says :

    Great quote joleene keep them coming☺

Leave a Reply

