Say You’ll Haunt Me

No, I don’t really want haunted, that’s just the song going through my head. I’m working on a short story for the Halloween anthology (where we’re still accepting submissions). I had two previously written ones I’d planned to use, but this one has been niggling at me for a bit (the opening is from a dream I had several weeks ago) so I’ll see how it turns out. I’m nearly 5,000 words in and finally have part of a plot figured out, though I am a bit stuck because I’m to the spot where I need to start working towards the end, and I don’t know what the end is yet.

Anyway, it’s late, so I’ll post a better blog tomorrow (I’ve been lucky enough to be given an award). Meanwhile, here’s the first 250 words of the unedited story:

Bugs chirped in thick grass and the sun descended in a pool of golden glow. A tiny car zipped down the country lane. The passenger leaned casually against the door, her broad brimmed hat  trimmed in fake flowers that almost matched the pattern on her dress. A large purse rested on the floorboard between her meaty feet, and a pair of mismatched suitcases took up the backseat. The driver, short sandy hair and pale complexion, gripped the steering wheel. His angry eyes darted back and forth between the road and his friend.

“You thought about throwing me to the wolves, didn’t you?”

Marjorie shrugged. “Didn’t you?”

Gordon’s wide eyes skipped from the road to her, then back again. “No! Of course not!”

“I find that hard to believe.” She lit a cigarette and cracked the window. “Any normal person would consider it with a detective breathing down their neck. Obviously I reconsidered. That’s the part that counts.”

“That’s jolly great. ‘It doesn’t count if I don’t do it.’ Of course it still counts! What do you think would happen to me if you just lumped it all at my feet?”

She blew out an aggravated stream of smoke. “I had a last minute throw of conscience, so it’s a moot point.”

“Until the next time they call us in for questioning,” he muttered.

“God willing there won’t be a next time.” She flicked ashes out the window and squinted at the countryside through the twilight gloom. “Your turn is coming up.”

“If I wanted GPS alerts, I’d install one of the damned things.”

Little bit different style than usual. It may end up getting fixed to the normal one, but we’ll see.

Have a good one!

Jo 🙂

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

One response to “Say You’ll Haunt Me”

  1. dm yates says :

    Interesting. Can’t wait to read the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

