Blogger Recognition Award

wpid-wp-1439209007651I was lucky enough  to be nominated for this amazing award by Waffle Me This the other day. I’m late in posting it because I have been working on that short story which I’m happy to say is finished and off to the betas.

Anyway, a huge thank you for the nomination! It made my day.

The Rules:

Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.
Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers.
Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog.
List who you’ve nominated in the post.
Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).
Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them.
Provide a link to the award post you created.
Provide a link to the original post on edge of night. That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!

My Blog Story:

This is actually a continuation of the blog I had on MySpace – at first I even copied some of the old posts over (I never got around to doing all of them.)- which was a continuation of my Yahoo blog. I don’t remember how I started on yahoo – i was heavy into a lot of the social aspects of it back in 2005. I was in a bunch of groups – which I discovered through a paper doll group – and I had the blog and spent a lot of time on messenger. In 2006 I moved to MySpace because I knew basic HTML and a friend of mine – who I’d met in a Harry Potter chat group and had gotten close to through a fan fiction/role play group – opened an account there and wanted help with her profile, so I thought “what the heck”. I was pretty active on MySpace until it went to hell in 2010, then I moved here.

But that doesn’t really say *why* I blog. I wish I had a really deep answer – something about sharing my inner soul or connecting with people, but in the end the real reason I blog is because I think it’s fun. I always wanted to write a newspaper column, and isn’t that what blogging is? We’re all unpaid columnists now, spewing our opinions, anecdotes, trials, and tribulations out into the void and hoping that someone, somewhere will read it and be amused, or touched, or entertained. Is that a good enough reason?

Which takes me to my advice to bloggers. Audience is great, but unless your blog is part of your business platform, blog for yourself – because it’s fun and you enjoy it. I know people who make it into a chore and hate it. If you don’t like it, don’t do it. If you’re not having a good time it shows, and your readers won’t be either.

And now for fifteen nominations. If I nominated you and you don’t participate in awards then please don’t feel obligated. I hope you view it as the compliment I mean it as.

And it’s now 4:30 a.m. and waaaaaaay past my bedtime, so have a good one, all!

Jo 🙂

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

7 responses to “Blogger Recognition Award”

  1. Barbara says :

    Thank you Joleene, it was incredibly kind of your to nominate me. I will blog about the award as soon as I can. Barbara x

  2. Tricia Drammeh says :

    Thank you so much for the nomination!

Leave a Reply

