At Last

At last, after having owned this house for over a year, one room is 100% done. Finished. Completed. Well, sans some decorating items but that doesn’t count towards reno done-ness. Fittingly, it is the first room we started on last summer: the laundry room.

It looks pretty good.
Despite this victory I feel blah. Sort of hopeless and overwhelmed. I’d say it’s because we actually tried climbing the ladder today and discovered that none of us can do it (scared of heights) which means we’re going to have to hire someone to paint at least the top half of the house (we can manage the shorter ladder) and needless to say with house taxes this month there is no way we have that kind of money, and with it being close to the end of painting season… It means another winter without painting. But, though it’s made me feel worse, it’s not the cause because I felt like this yesterday and the day before… I dunno. Maybe it’s just the seasonal depression (though that’s normally early and mid summer), but I just want to hide under the covers and tell everyone to f*** off (which is certainly not nice because no one has actually done anything to me past the normal household annoyances). I need to finish my stupid short story but I don’t even care about that. Maybe I’ll go back to doing my paper dolls for awhile. Drawing usually cheers me up when I get in a funk.
Bleh.
Hope you’re doing better than me.
Have a good one!
Jo 🙂

Posted from WordPress for Android

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

11 responses to “At Last”

  1. wafflemethis says :

    Looks great Joleene☺☺

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic says :

    All that organization appeals to the OCD portion of my mind! Remember – small victories. Take satisfaction in those as they happen, well worth it!

  3. Juli Hoffman says :

    I love your laundry room! So cheery and organized. Getting under the covers and telling everyone to f*** off…yeah…been there. There’s been lots of times when I think my mail should have been forwarded to my f*** off space. In fact, it became a running gag, “How many sh**s do you think I give? I’ll give you a hint. It’s not two.” And of course, hubby would behave like a reasonable person, which would secretly make me angry, because sometimes you just need to rant and be very UNREASONABLE.

    • Joleene Naylor says :

      Right?? It just gets like everything is a bit overwhelming and it’s either go crazy worrying about ti all or just say F*** it all. I’ve started feeling better now and have tackled some stuff, and from your blog it sounds like you are too 🙂

  4. Cynthia regier says :

    Pat yourself on the back, hug hubby &brother and bask in the beauty of your laundry room. It looks like a wonderful place to spend time with washing and folding. I have lived through remodels also and when you see one done it gets to you how much there is to do with the rest of your home. The kitchen is pretty awesome also. I would have never thought red would works so well! I can’t believe all you juggle with home, family, and work. Allow your stint of antisocial ness (is that even a word?) all is good! Love your blogs, pictures, and glimpses into one of favorite authors!? Just keep on keeping on and everything will. Work out eventually.

    • Joleene Naylor says :

      It looks like a word to me – and if it’s not then it should be 🙂 Thanks so much for your kind words! Yes! It’s just like this place will never be done – and between us all you;d think “hey, four adults in one house, you should be moving right along” but we seem to be slower than everyone else… but rather than worrying about other people’s speed I guess I should just be happy we’ve made any progress at all 😉

  5. dm yates says :

    I love it! I’ve so wanted my own laundry room. You’re doing good. As for painting the top – I get it. I’m not too fond of high ladders.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.