Mom and the Cavatini Experiment

This should have posted last night but when I logged in to write today’s I found that it hadn’t, so you get it instead. Aren’t you lucky?

Apparently the world was supposed to end today (yesterday), which would not have been surprising because it’s my mother’s birthday. I kid, I kid. I love her, though we drive one another crazy sometimes. My father claims it’s because we’re alike, but the problem is that on most things we’re complete opposites. As I said, I love her, though, and she was a good mother growing up. She made me paper dolls, and we had tea parties, and she read us books, and all of those little mother things that a lot of moms don’t do. Not because they’re bad moms, just they’re different. She also raised me a bit “Artsy” – I remember the first time I learned that not everyone could draw, or that not everyone had piles of blank paper in their house or a hundred colors of colored pencils. She used to read her poems to us and have us critique them (yeah, I was editing as a toddler – ha!). She also taught em to like vampires, and Poe, and gothy things and…I could go on but you get the idea.

Anyway, so she got a cake:

the swirls did not go all the way through. Pooey.

the swirls did not go all the way through. Pooey.

Halloweeeny

Halloweeeny

In house news I painted on the dressers some more, though I don’t know what to do with those messed up spots. Hubby has voted to ignore them for now and see how it looks once it’s in our room and – if it’s too bad – buy some contact paper. This is why I love hubby.

wpid-wp-1444291420419.jpeg

Also I have finally gotten around to testing out switching the front room and dining room, and I think we are going to do it:

wpid-wp-1444291414963.jpeg

Now to the Cavatini. If you’re as old as me, you may remember that pizza hut used to have a delicious pasta dish called Cavatini Supreme – okay, I looked for an image but couldn’t find one. Anyway, it was a pasta dish made with  onions, sausage, green onions and pepperoni thrown in (I can’t remember if there were mushrooms, and recipes don’t seem to agree).

Anyway, I LOVED cavatini, as did my best friend Mel. Hamburg was one of the last places you could still get it, long after everyone else discontinued it, but even it went in the mid 2000s. So you can see how long its been since we’ve had it. An effort at recreation spawned our version of “baked spaghetti” which involves prego’s italian sausage sauce, green peppers, mushrooms, and whatever cheese we’re in the mood for, baked in the oven. It’s good, but it tastes nothing like it. The sauce is the key. Noodles, peppers, mozarella – that all tastes the same, but the sauce…

And that’s when it hit me that we keep using spaghetti sauce – but Pizza Hut used to have only ONE sauce – a pizza sauce – that they used for everything. Perhaps we needed to try pizza sauce.

Fast forward to now. Mel and the kids came over and I sifted through all the cavatini recipes online until we found one that sounded close. Except we didn’t use the spaghetti sauce they suggested. We used Ragu pizza sauce.

And….

wpid-wp-1444291440105.jpeg

And it’s close. Closer than any we’ve ever made before. But it’s missing something. Mel pointed out that Pizza Hut used those purple onions, while we used sweet onions, so maybe that’s the problem. This means we’ll have to have another cavatini party and try it again – and cu the recipe down. It made enough for an army – we fed eight people and could have fed five or six more probably. More if some of us were not hefty eaters. here’s the one we use:

  • 2 large green bell pepper, diced
  • 2 large onion, diced
  • 1 carton white mushrooms, chopped
  • 2 ounces (½ stick) margarine
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 2 pound assorted pasta (wheels, shells, spirals, ziti)
  • 1 pound pepperoni. sliced thin then cut in half
  • 16 ounces mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 1 pound hamburger
  • 1 pound Italian sausage
  • 3 jars of Ragu Pizza sauce

Saute the peppers, mushrooms, onions and garlic salt in butter. Brown hamburger and sausage, and cook noodles in the normal way. Drain. Now mix everything together, top with mozarella, and bake at  350 for 20 minutes or until the cheese is melted.

I did look up recipes on how to make “pizza hut sauce” but it’s not oregano or basil we’re missing. One of the recipes does suggest lemon juice, and though that sounds weird to me, it might be it since it;s a “kick” that the pasta is missing. I also found a really crazy recipe involving grape jelly:

2 lb : Ground Round
2 tb : Vegetable Oil
1 1/2 pk : Onion Soup Mix
1 lb : Jar Prego Spaghetti Sauce;
Provolone Cheese
Mozzarella Cheese
1/2 c : Grape Jelly
28 oz : Stewed Tomatoes; Sliced Style
1 cn : V-8 Juice; (6 Ounces)
4 c : Uncooked Assorted Pasta;

I’m pretty sure that this would be awful. But if someone else wants to try it and let me know that would be great, LOL! (worth a try, right?)

Okay, it’s late and I am tired so I am out of here. Have a good one! And if you know how to replicate the OLD pizza hut sauce (the new stuff isn’t the same) please let me know!

Jo 🙂

P.S. And look what came in the mail today:

wpid-wp-1444291430201.jpeg

Guess what hubby is doing tomorrow?

Tags: , ,

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

8 responses to “Mom and the Cavatini Experiment”

  1. Juli Hoffman says :

    Recipe sounds interesting, the first one, not the second. 🙂 I think I’ll pass on the grape jelly…although there are a lot of meatball recipes and sausage crockpot recipes with grape jelly in them. So, who knows?
    Have you thought about doing a lace technique on your dressers? It could hide a multitude of imperfections. Here’s a link:

Leave a Reply

