Acceptance and Pirates

“Victory! We fight to win! Victory is ours again!”

Yes, those are the lyrics from the opening song of The Pirate Movie. I imagine it may also be a real song that they stole, but I don’t know. Anyway, if you don’t get the reference:

So why am I victorious? Because I beat NaNoWriMo.

image

50,160 words.  While that’s not a lot to some participants, especially those who planned ahead, it was a special victory for me because at midnight last night I was short 14,000 words.
Yikes.
I’d pretend this is something new, but it’s not. A fellow author posted a very insightful blog about what she learned from NaNo including that she did her best writing on the weekend. What did I learn about my writing habits? Sadly the same thing I already knew: I start with good intentions to space things out where I can do it easily and without sweating. I fall off, then in the middle swoop up, catch up, and get it ready to skate through the end, then completely stop and cram the whole lot into the last day or two.

image

I do this with everything. I always have. I’ve tried to do better, BE better, but it’s just setting myself up for failure. I had accepted this, and was even happy on this state of being, until I became an “author” – meaning I have been inundated with a billion and one blogs and articles telling me how I am supposed to be, how I am supposed to think, and how I am supposed to write.
Yikes.
That’s the trouble with NaNo, with writing communities, with those author publications, etc. etc. They’re all busy telling us what worked FOR THEM, and while that’s great, it may not work for us. Writing on a normal, paced out timeline does not work for me. Waiting until the last minute? Apparently that does, and that’s OK.
Have a good one!
Jo 🙂

Posted from WordPress for Android

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

2 responses to “Acceptance and Pirates”

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic says :

    *whew* congrats!! That is a ton if effort and quite an achievement!

Leave a Reply

