What Happens to Old Film

Long ago, in the dusts of time, I used a camera with *gasp* film. Towards the end was a time of great activity (aka I was short on time) and when time was available I was short on funds and, well, anyway, I never got the last several rolls developed.

I’ve planned to do it. I’ve said I need to. Then this year for Christmas Dad gave me my usual Walmart gift card. For a change I didn’t need to spend it on a) the thing I wanted that no one got me or b) groceries, so I am using it to get those rolls of film developed.

I sent in two test rolls, to see if anything would even come off of them because I had no idea when they were from. To my surprise some photos did come off, and they are from 2005. Even more interesting, the two random rolls I grabbed happen to go together.

As I said there were photos, but that doesn’t mean they’re GOOD photos. One roll isn’t too bad but the other…It’s so bad that they sent me a card about how to avoid light pollution to my film and suggested I may have changed the roll in full on sunlight. Ouch.

Anyway, I thought I’d share them for a sort of throwback fun day, and to show you what happens when you wait 10 years to develop film. Also of note: Walmart did NOT return my negatives (there were a lot of arguments about this online when I tried to find out whether they even developed pictures anymore.) I did get a cool picture CD though so I didn’t have to manually scan anything off.

These are from December 2005. We stopped at Shyla’s Christmas event, got to go to Branson and get a motel and see Ray Steven’s last show thanks to hubby’s work, had the big family Christmas, and then our family Christmas, as well as my birthday and my brother’s birthday. And of course there’s some cats.

So let this be a lesson. Do not let film sit for ten years. And now, I need to get some more developed.

Have a pink and yellow bonfire explosion kind of day!

Jo 🙂

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

4 responses to “What Happens to Old Film”

  1. Steve Evans says :

    Hahhahahahaha and some more of those.

    I have several boxes of negs in my garage; mostly there are prints of the ones that came out ok, and those are in some kind of order. But if I wanted prints. . .when I started taking photography seriously all the how-tos were very explicit about keeping records and labelling and filing negs. Naturally that was my own and only desire in life! As in, not…

    • Joleene Naylor says :

      heh-heh. Yeah. My negatives are a disaster. walmart used to give you very nice sleeves with dates and things to make it easy, so naturally I tossed them all in a box where they fell out of their sleeves and then later jammed them randomly into envelopes… someday I need to digitalize all my photos.

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic says :

    Wow…I haven’t worked with real film in years!!

    • Joleene Naylor says :

      I think 2005 maybe 2006 is the cut off for me as well. i know by 2007 I had my Kodak easy share digital camera. We actually had a really cheap crappy digital camera in 2005 but it was bad….

Leave a Reply

