Out of Patience

image

Before I get into this let me say I like Barnes and Noble as a store. But as for their Nook Press…. Yeah. I’m not impressed. Not even a little bit. Since they switched to Nook Press from whatever it was they used to be called, I have not received a single tax form from them. Yes, I sold enough to require the form, and yes my mailing address is 100% correct, but for some reason they can’t get a form to me. I’ve been back and forth with support since February and I STILL don’t have a 1099. STILL. Tax deadlines are almost here and I don’t have the paper I need. They’re attitude is very lax about it – dismissive is actually a better term – and as of now I’m done with them. I’ll continue to distribute to Barnes and Noble through Smashwords, but I have unpublished all my nook press books and I’m going to delete my account. I’m fed up. How hard is it to send a tax document? I’ve contacted the post office but there’s really nothing they can do. Meanwhile, if they really did send it, my tax information is god knows where, in some random person’s hands. Doesn’t that make a person feel good?
I’ll have to do the same thing this year I did in other years; manually add up what they paid me and, according to the nook forum where other people are having this same problem, use the same tax identifier info from  2014, which if I recall someone was nice enough to tell me because I didn’t get a form from them then, either.
Anyway, I’m very disappointed -again- with their business department and the complete lack of concern they display. This is why they’re losing authors and customers to Amazon. And trust me, I am NOT an Amazon lover, but let’s just say I have never been dissatisfied with their customer service.
Now that I’m done ranting I’m heading to bed. Night!
Jo 😡  <—- angry face

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

5 responses to “Out of Patience”

  1. Juli Hoffman says :

    Is there any way they could email you the tax info? That’s what my last employer did.

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic says :

    “Only available in paper.” How archaic of them….😕

Leave a Reply

