AHS 6

We watched the first episode of American Horror Story season 6 last night, and can I quote Daniel Bryan with a:

Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes!

Finally -finally – they are bringing back the scares. I’m not saying previous seasons weren’t good, just not scary.

Season one – the scariest to date, but mostly it was twisted and brilliant, with clever plot twists and surprises, but not a lot of jumps or gasps. I didn’t walk upstairs alone in the dark after watching it and worry that Tate might get me. I’d have been happy if he showed up, actually. Call me a dirty old woman.

Season two – despite the psychiatric Institute, the demons, the aliens, and the nazis,  I think this season was mostly fun and twisted. The name game song still makes me laugh, and the scene with Quinto and Paulson where he calls her mother is worthy of psycho. Good TV, but not scary. I didn’t walk upstairs afterwards alone, worrying about aliens or ex-nazi.

Season 3 – probably my least favorite, though it was still good. Creative would be a good word for this, as they created their own mythos on witches and linked it to contemporary things,  like Stevie Nick’s songs. It had sneaky politics, and good twists,  but at the end of the day I didn’t walk upstairs in the dark fearing the axe man or the witches.

Season four – the most disturbing of the set, what bothered me in this season was not the Paranormal,  but rather the contemporary moments; what they did to Meep,  the snuff film, taking the lobster hands. The disturbing part of this was the absolute cruelty that one human can do to another,  and though sickening, heart wrenching,  and disturbing, it didn’t make me jump.

Season five – gory is the only word I have for this. Yes, dealing with vampires and killers,  a lot of blood was expected,  so I’m not complaining,  but rather than scare me, or make me lay awake at night in fear, it just made me cringe and go, “OMG I can’t believe they showed that.” Not that it wasn’t good, with plenty of twists that by the end has you on the side of the psychos (one of AHS’S strong points IMHO is to make you side with the monsters as if they were right all aling.) But, it didn’t leave me afraid I’d run into the countess or March,  heck, it left you feeling like they were a jolly bunch you’d like to spend time with.

Enter season six. Creepy house in BFE..uhuh…creepy noises in the dark…oh man…and I’m not ashamed to say that I jumped at the hot tub scene, and that I was actually tense while they hid in the basement. And did it bother me in the middle of the night? Damn straight.  Finally, finally they have scared me a bit. Now, let’s see if they can keep it up.

In other news, we went shopping, etc today. Had fun at the park pokemoning, and got some good snaps.


And now I leave you with pretty roses.

Have a pokemon kinda day!

Jo 🙂

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

Leave a Reply

