Thankfulness #64: Resolution

Though some things got resolved today, not a lot happened. I got some writing done (am actually pausing a scene to throw this up), had a tasty tenderloin I did NOT photograph *gasp* and started making plans for retreats and such later in the year and next year. I’d like to lie and say I cleaned the house, but I didn’t. That writing and planning took a lot of time, ha ha!

I vaguely mentioned some drama  in my blog last night. I think. I might have edited it out. I don’t remember. Anyway, today I’m thankful to say there was a resolution, at least where I’m concerned. I was talking aloud to my mother, lamenting about who would be mad about this, and who would be mad about that, and what to do to keep everyone happy so I didn’t lose any friends (or at least as few as possible) and then it struck me: I am almost 40. This is ridiculous. This – this is high school s***. I’m too damn old to worry about if someone is mad because I am talking to someone else. And they’re all too damn old to be mad because I am talking to someone else. I shouldn’t have to cower and worry, I should stand up on the mountain top with my trumpet and declare, “I am talking to everyone,” and they will either accept it or not.

Of course I didn’t stand on a mountain top. I’m in Iowa, so we don’t even have mountains. And I didn’t have a trumpet because, well, I don’t own one. But it all went well and everything is back on track, and I feel much better, so yay!

And now back to writing!

Have a getting things done kinda day (since I didn’t)

Jo 🙂

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

3 responses to “Thankfulness #64: Resolution”

  1. markrhunter says :

    On the one hand, we should strive not to pointlessly upset people. On the other hand, your true friends aren’t going to turn against you because they don’t like everything you say. Personally, I don’t think it should be that hard of a balance to maintain–if it is, you’re probably dealing with people who are looking to be offended.

    • Barbara says :

      I’m a couple of years away from my seventieth birthday, and I STILL struggle with these things. I guess we all have to work it out for ourselves, but I’m not sure I will do that in this lifetime. 🙂

    • Joleene Naylor says :

      It’s harder with women than men. Men can have friends, get mad, then get over it. Women seem to cling to it, and have this “fidelity” thing where you must be “loyal to them above all others” like there’s some commitment tor something, and if you’re not, if you don’t choose them over all the other friends, then they’re mad. It’s why I tend to not have female friends, LOL!

Leave a Reply

