Blogophilia 1.10: A Visit with my Twin

It’s time again for Blogophilia, the fun blog group where Marvin gives prompts for participants to use in their blog. It is a lot of fun!

This week’s prompts are:

Ecrits Blogophilia Week 1.10 Topic: “First Love”
**BONUSES:
Hard (2 pts): Incorporate a Michael Jordan Quote
Easy (1 pt): Include the word “protected”

First, I need to address the elephant in the room. Yes, I have wandered away from one of my first loves this last week – blogging. I meant to post about my vacation while I was on it, but alas I just got too busy enjoying myself, and didn’t make it. Never fear, I plan to make it up now.

Second, I want to say that yes, I did see the post by my poor, misguided, (you might call him evil) twin Jonathan, but what can I say? Calling him evil would only make ME evil, so instead I must just sigh and shake my head sadly.

Now to the vacation! As I mentioned we went to visit my twin Jonathan:

jonathan-whiplash

Any resemblance to Snidely Whiplash I am sure is coincidental*

The first day there we spent playing board games. Jonathan’s favorite games to play were games that only he knew how to play. I’m sure it’s because he wanted us to have new experiences, not because it guaranteed that he would win…


There was also a birthday party where he encouraged them to use a broom to beat a princess to death for candy…but that is just too gruesome to talk about *shudder*  Though  it’s best to  always turn a negative situation into a positive situation, so I will say that the candy was very tasty, and I’m sure he meant well…

The party was followed by more games, inducing one involving trains and train tracks…

Image may contain: indoor

His version might have involved tying damsels to the tracks, but since he had company we had to play by the rules. Still, he managed to put his own touch to things:

16806896_10210206659376493_867453539116181096_n

We also spent some time with his mother and his brothers. They were a lot of fun. I especially got a kick out of his mother’s stories. She is the kind of lady who will not be fooled by so-called appearances and clever blog posts.

Image may contain: 4 people, people smiling, people standing

Though we had to get up in the morning, we stayed up pretty late, so the next morning he plied us with iced coffee – using the delicious raspberry white chocolate creamer that I can not get anywhere near me, for some reason. Of course having it there only makes me want the delicious, unattainable raspberry chocolateness even more…I’m sure he meant well though, and that he didn’t do it to be diabolical.

No automatic alt text available.
Though it is February, which means it is cold in Iowa, it was warm in Pensacola:

Image may contain: text and nature

So my twin took us to the beach. Though I know he said the traffic came as a surprise, I think I saw him doing his villain laugh more than once as we were inching along. I’m sure refrains of “Gwahahahahah!” floated back to us. But never mind.

At least we made it to the beach!

Wasn’t it beautiful? Hubby got to do some swimming, and we did our Book Born live stream, though oddly we used my phone to do the live stream with. So later, when we went to pokemon, my phone battery died, and I wasn’t able to catch some of the super cool beach pokemon that Jonathan caught, but I’m sure he didn’t have that planned!

Image may contain: 1 person, eyeglasses and closeup

(Even though I was not protected by sunscreen, I still did not really burn, thank goodness!)

After that we headed back to the home base where we played Smashup, another game we had no experience with but enjoyed, despite the disadvantage that I am sure Jonathan did not mean to use to his own advantage.

Sadly, the next day we had to head home. We did get a couple of games in, though:

We had a good trip home. My twin did encourage us to take a moment to check out a nature preserve in Mississippi where there are alligators. Of course, it turns out the alligators are not fenced in, and we could have been eaten, but I am sure he did not know that.

gator.jpg

He also helped talk us into going to Osceola Cheese where we nearly made ourselves sick on cheese samples, but again, I am sure he had no idea that would happen:

Image may contain: indoor

And obviously we made it home, back to good old Iowa weather:

Image may contain: tree, snow, sky, outdoor and nature

You might almost say that the snow and cold seem worse now than they would have had we not gone on vacation. I mean, we were at least used to it, but then we got used to flip flops and warm sandy beaches, and now we have to contend with this…you could almost say it was some kind of diabolical plan, designed to make the winter seem even crueler…but I’m sure that’s not the case. I mean, only someone evil would think of something like that!

Right?

Have a “thinking the best of your evil twin” kind of day!

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

17 responses to “Blogophilia 1.10: A Visit with my Twin”

  1. thejissilly says :

    Show someone a good time on their vacation and they start to see evil schemes around every corner. Lol

  2. Tyler Myrth says :

    I loved it – you certainly convinced me he had only the purest intentions

    TM

  3. Marvin's Blogophilia says :

    I would not dare think there was any evilness to Jonathan’s helpful hints and games. Of course not!! In the meantime, here’s 8 points Earthlihg! Bet Jonathan didn’t see that one coming either!?1 🙂 – Martien aka Marvin Martian 🙂

  4. Irene says :

    Good to have you back! From the looks of it, it seems you had a great vacation.

  5. Christine Wichman says :

    Loved your twisty recollections and humorous poke at your evil twin. Looks like you had a wonderful visit. The photos are great, especially the Snidely Whiplash one…*Hysterical. Love the friendship you two have!!

  6. Dave (nissmech) says :

    Beware of snarky turtle comments!

  7. Colleen Keller Breuning says :

    Wow! It is so cool to see you all hanging together on vacation, after many years of collaboration and friendship. I think I can safely say we are all looking forward to some more Terrible Turtles on the horizon! 😀

  8. BarbaraK aka fiddlbarb says :

    How fun! And fun to read too.

  9. Another Government Employee says :

    It’s almost hatching season.

  10. demme1954 says :

    This was amazing! Thoroughly enjoyed hearing about your vacation and your (diabolical) evil twin…glad you didn’t get eaten by alligators though and yes…16 degrees here tonight and snow showers expected…the water in your pics looked so warm 🙂

Leave a Reply

