Thankfulness #125: Moving the Trees

Yesterday I was not thankful to find out that our neighbor Joanne passed away. She was an older lady who’d gone to stay with her children in Des Moines, so while it wasn’t a shock, it was still sad. I won;t pretend we knew her well – we’re not good neighbors. Maybe we spent too many years in apartments, but I tend to have a “mind my own business” kind of attitude as opposed to the stereotypical small town midwest “we’re all family” belief. But the few times I did talk to her, she was very nice, and she let us have lilacs from her tree and peonies from the bushes that border our yard.

As I mentioned, she went to stay with her kids over the winter, and I was pretty sure she wouldn’t come back – not because I anticipated her passing, but because I imagined they’d keep her with them. Our first year here we planted some pussy willow trees very close to what I assume is the property line (the lawn mower guy says our garage is right at the line, though that creates an odd thing where it would mean that our garage roof overhangs onto their property, which I can;t imagine the city giving a permit for, but whatever.) Assuming he’s right, then the trees were pretty much on it (there was a misunderstanding between myself and the person who planted them about where they were supposed to go). When it was Joanne next door I wasn’t that worried about it, but with the chances of the house being sold, it could be a concern. So I hit google, where a website informed me they could be moved if we did it while they’re young.

I made plans to do that when it warmed up, but, even though it’s May, those trees were still there, right on that line. I’ve been buried under working on the book, hubby has been doing six 11 hour days and if someone does have a minute we have plans with someone or else it’s raining. But, with Joanne’s passing came the very real push that they WILL be selling the house, and probably soon, so we need to get it done.

We got it done today. The root systems looked nothing like the online diagrams. Instead of spreading out they pretty much went down, down, (to goblin town – little LotR reference there) and there weren’t very many of them, so hopefully we didn’t somehow miss something and hack off all the roots. I did learn that I don’t like digging, at least not with the short handled shovel we have.

agOf1GSG.jpg

Now we’ll see if they die…

We also took the birdhouse down (I am going to paint it and put it back out in a new location), but there is a metal eye/anchor that we can’t get out of the ground. The thing goes down for probably four feet. It’s on the list to tackle later this week.

cTnzvoUF.jpg

This does not do it justice

And now I have to get to work reading on the fantasy book. Been so long since I worked on it with the brother that I’ve forgotten what’s happening, so I have to start at the beginning. He’s not happy about it, but I can’t help it.

Have a tree moving kinda day!

Jo 😉

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

One response to “Thankfulness #125: Moving the Trees”

  1. markrhunter says :

    My garage sits on the property line, and the edge of the roof does indeed hang over onto the neighbor’s land. In our case, when the town was originally platted an alley was mapped there, but never built — eventually someone built a carriage house (which became my garage) in the alley. When the alley platt was removed, half the alley became my property and half the neighbor’s. Things can get really complicated in old neighborhoods like that.

Leave a Reply

