More on Superpoke Pets

 

I was going to post a long, windy post yesterday, but it turned into something more factual. Since I haven’t seen much of that online anywhere, I decided to leave it and do the whiny, personal stuff today.

I’ve been playing Superpoke Pets since summer of 2008 and, right or wrong, I’ve become pretty attached to my virtual Chicken, Clucky. With the announcement of new changes, people in the forums are saying that it is the friends that keep them on the site blah, blah, blah. Not so for me. Sure, I like people on SPP, but I visit the site because I like to play with my pets, decorate the habitats, look at other people’s habitats and play the arcade game Pet Dazzled.  I also enjoyed Thursday’s shopping night. Though it was usually a glitch filled race to beat other players to items,  for every ounce of annoyance there was a pound of delight when you did get those hard to obtain goods.

With the shopping taken away, my first reaction was outrage. In retrospect I have enough items and habitats to keep all my pets busy for years. Counting the four habitats I bought the last couple of days from people’s closing out sales, I have 408 habitats, including almost every coin habitat ever released. If I decorated one a day for the next year I still couldn’t use them all. I don’t even want to guess how many thousands of items I’ve collected in the last three years, both gold and coin. And there are still a few more Thursdays left in June to buy new items on.

My main concern with the SPP “cutbacks” are that 1) everyone else will leave and 2) all items will be locked up in accounts and there won’t be anything to buy, Marketplace or no. Yeah, I know I just said I have thousands of items, but sometimes you need something else. Like When I wanted to make a river in a habitat and needed some extra rugs for the water.

the water is made up of several rugs

Even worse, if there’s no one left then they will close it down. Servers cost money. The thought of my cute little pets disappearing makes me, well, depressed is a good word for it. And they are cute. In fact, the cuteness my favorite thing about SPP. I joined the site because the advertisement was so cute and when they announced the new pet look this last December, one of the Admins assured us skeptics that with the new adorable animations they were even cuter. I didn’t believe her but after two weeks of playing with friends’ pets I realized she was right – they were cuter! That’s right about the same time that Clucky had an unfortunate accident…

right after new years, too!

and some plastic surgery

What a way to spend January – in bandages!

And emerged as one of the happy, dancing chickens.

Whoa! A whole new look!

Look at that little face. How could you want to delete it, let alone take out the other two pets I have co-ownership of:

Piggly Wiggly – who is technically Bonnie’s

The Quickness who is technically Jonathan’s, though barely 😉

I don’t know. So long as SPP actually remains opened I will stay there because I like it. When I feel overly stressed  or depressed I log on and play with the cute little cartoon animals or else spend hours clicking away rainbow colored pet jewels in the Arcade game.  So long as I can do that I guess I will be happy, even if there’s no new releases, no new garden seeds, no new quests, no new games and no updates of any kind.

Man, when you put it out like that, it still sucks.

On a brighter note, please enjoy a  gallery of some of Clucky’s past superpoke pets habitats!

Tomorrow I think I might post the rest – he has a world tour that was a lot of fun 🙂

http://pandora-6666.superpokepets.com/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Joleene Naylor

An independent author, freelance artist, and photographer for fun who loves anime, music, and writing. Check out my vampire series Amaranthine at http://JoleeneNaylor.com or drop me a line at Joleene@JoleeneNaylor.com

15 responses to “More on Superpoke Pets”

  1. julihoffman says :

    The Shades of Gray one…OH MY!!!!!! LOL Yep, I knew which scene this was right away. I think it might even more disturbing in chicken form. 😉

  2. VGTa says :

    I enjoyed reading your posts about SPP. 🙂 I feel depressed too about the changes, no more items release means no more shopping thrill for me… Even if I have to wake up at 3.45 AM to get the rares, it is fun and exciting. I don’t have a mega large inventory. Maybe a dozen of habitats left to decorate. But I love new items, it’s a big part of the game! Without new items people will lose interest in the game and quit. What can we do to avoid this nightmare?

    I’ve done the White Out Protest with my club, about the ladder fiasco. And they included the new friends tab… Not sure the White Out Protest did it though! lol
    Now, I’m posting my Protest habitats in the forums, but still, I’m not sure it will change something. I’ve signed the petition and made a video too. And I am wondering: what can we do to make them reconsider their decision??

    Thanks for reading me 😉

    • Joleene Naylor says :

      Yeah, that’s what I’m worried about, too. I have several friends who’ve basically quit over the years and I am trying to convince many to either log in and set the stuff up in the marketplace or else send it to me and I will because I figure if everyone did that there would be more items in circulation, though the trouble we’ll run into is people who buy cheap and then r sell at a ridiculous price.

      I also think that if the clubs or the forums can keep contests and games going that will help, too. I admit I don’t do a lot of forum posting because of time (Spend too much of it playing with pets and decorating 😉 ) but that could help to fill the Quest void if we could just come up with some really interesting stuff…

  3. hobbesmommy says :

    Wow, Clucky’s had quite the interesting life! I’ve been around since Feb. of 2009. Not quite as long as you but still a long time. And it’s been my favorite stress reliever after a long day of work in the real world with all of its inherent stressors. So I will remain, ever hopeful that the site will not be closed down and my pets will be unavailable. *Sigh*. And I will continue trying to get to the bottom of why this is happening. I find myself trolling the internet trying to see if there are any articles regarding the demise of Superpoke Pets and/or Slide.

    • Joleene Naylor says :

      Thanks! 😀

      Yes! I’ve been doing the same thing! I keep doing random searches and so far have not turned much up. If it is over lawsuits I guess we’ll find out when it hits the news. If it is legal the admins can’t talk about it *sigh* Have you come up with anything in your searches?

      • hobbesmommy says :

        No, Joleene, I’ve seen nothing yet to flesh out why at this stage of the game slide is slipping away. I do speculate that it might be legal, also, for it to have happened so quickly and on the heels of so many new features and improvements. It just seems so sudden, and the language the admins is using seems so couched. Of course, they are rather used to using platitudes with us in an attempt to placate us. So who knows. But I find this fascinating and will continue to be on the lookout. And will let you know if I hear of anything. Thanks again for your blogs. Awesome!!

  4. Bonnie Mutchler says :

    Alot of good memories!!! God willing, there will be lots more 🙂

  5. Pattie Burke-Grubbs says :

    Great story and a lot of delightful Habitats.

  6. WendyJ says :

    Many of us are wondering if they lost their merchant status with the credit card companies and/or paypal. They might have been on probation after their last fiasco, I do know some of the banks and credit card comp. were is discussions with them over their carelessness, so this might have been the final straw. It would have been faster acting than a lawsuit would have been, and the only reason I can think of to suddenly give up selling gold, which was their main source of income.

    • Joleene Naylor says :

      I lean towards that, too. it had to be something that happened all of a sudden, despite the claims that they have been thinking about it for a long time! if they’d planned it out then it would have been a much smoother transition, and there wouldn’t be all these “small releases” of premade items because they wouldn’t have made items!

  7. Elizabeth Brier says :

    I would be surprised if with the upcoming holiday, someone decides to post something like this somewhere, like they are planning an SPP Rescue Mission or something like that.

    Good morning fellow SPPers. In less than an hour, SPP pet owners from here will join others from around the world. And you will be launching the largest Superpoke Rescue Campaign in the history of Superpoke Pets. “Superpoke Pets”, that word should have new meaning for all of us today. We can’t be consumed by our petty differences anymore. We will be united in our common Superpoke Pet interests. Perhaps it’s fate that today is the Fourth of July, and you will once again be fighting for our freedom… Not from tyranny, oppression, or persecution… but from deletion. We are fighting for our pets’ rights to live. To exist. And should we win the day, the Fourth of July will longer only be know as an American holiday, but as the day the Superpoke Pet world declared in one voice: “SPP will not go quietly into the night! SPP will not vanish without a fight! Our pets are going to live on! They’re going to survive! Today, we celebrate our Independence Day!”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.